15 Most Famous Architects of the 21st Century (Part 2)
Source 08-03-2020Leave a Comment

15 Most Famous Architects of the 21st Century

Richard Rogers

Richard Rogers is an Italian-British architect. He has been the recipient of numerous awards such as the RIBA Gold Medal in 1985, the Thomas Jefferson Memorial Foundation Medal in 1999, the Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Prize from the American Academy & Institute of Arts and Letters in 1989, Japan Art Association’s Praemium Imperiale prize for architecture in 2000, and the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2007. In 1995, he was the first architect to deliver the annual BBC Reith Lectures, on a series of radio talks; that were later published as “Cities for a Small Planet”, in 1997.

His company Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners is an international architectural practice based in London. His most significant works include the Pompidou Centre in Paris and the Millennium Dome in Greenwich, England.

International Spy Museum 

Centre Pompidou

Chen Keshi

Chen Keshi is a Professor at Peking University, Doctoral Supervisor, and Chief Designer of the China Reconstruct Institute of Architectural and Urban Design. Without a doubt, he is one of the great harbingers of architectural innovation across the Chinese design landscape and, certainly, beyond.

Chen Keshi is a practical expert, who relied on the design concept of "Urban Humanism" and "Modern Interpretation of Traditional Architecture" to complete planning and design of 8 famous historical and cultural cities in China, reconstruction projects of 27 ancient towns and tourism town design. He is the designer of Lulang International Tourism Town in Tibet, post disaster reconstruction of Shuimo Town in Sichuan, the Opera House in Zhuhai, Shenzhen Bay Super Headquarter and other influential projects.

Opera House in Zhuhai

Thom Mayne

Thom Mayne is a Los Angeles-based architect, who was born in Waterbury, Connecticut. He studied architecture at the University of Southern California (1968) and later at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design in 1978, with a social agenda and urban planning focus. Receiving his bachelor’s degree, he began working as an urban planner under Korean-born architect Ki Suh Park. He is currently the director of Morphosis, an architectural firm in Santa Monica, California.

The work of Morphosis has a layered quality. Visually, the firm’s architecture includes sculptural forms. In recent years, such visual effect has been made possible increasingly through computer design techniques, which simplify the construction of complex forms. Such accomplishments led to Mayne to receive the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2005.

Emerson College Los Angeles

Bill & Melinda Gates Hall

Thomas Heatherwick

Thomas Alexander Heatherwick is an English designer and the founder of London-based design practice Heatherwick Studio. He studied three-dimensional design at Manchester Polytechnic and at the Royal College of Art, won several prizes.

Since 2010 Heatherwick has exhibited projects connected to national or local identity. These include the Olympic Cauldron, the New Routemaster bus, the first new double decker bus commissioned for London in 50 years, and the UK pavilion at Expo 2010. Heatherwick works with a team of over 150 architects, designers and makers from a combined studio and workshop in King’s Cross, London.

Learning Hub

Vessel Public Landmark

Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa

Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa are Japanese architects who, as founding partners of the firm SANAA (Sejima and Nishizawa and Associates), designed structures that were admired for their refined simplicity, spatial fluidity, and thoughtful integration into their surroundings. In 2010 they were awarded the Pritzker Prize, becoming only the second partnership to be so honoured.

Sejima earned a master’s degree in architecture in 1981 from Japan Women’s University. After apprenticing with architect Toyo Ito, she launched her own firm, Kazuyo Sejima and Associates, in 1987. Nishizawa, a student who had also worked for Ito, was one of her first hires. The office gradually developed a national reputation, with Sejima winning the Young Architect of the Year award from the Japanese Institute of Architects in 1992. Not long after, Nishizawa, who had completed a master’s degree in architecture from Yokohama National University in 1990, sought to open his own practice. Sejima, however, persuaded him to stay with her, and the two founded SANAA in 1995. 

Together, Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa were awarded the Arnold Brunner Memorial Medal of the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2002, a design prize from the Architectural Institute of Japan in 2006, and the Kunstpreis Berlin of 2007 from the Berlin Academy of Arts. In addition, they have presented their work throughout the United States and Europe in exhibitions and as visiting lecturers at numerous prestigious universities.

Factory Building on the Vitra Campus

Rolex Learning Center

Arata Isozaki

Arata Isozaki is a Japanese architect, urban designer, and theorist from Ōita. He graduated from the Department of Architecture in the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Tokyo in 1954, and began his career with establishing Arata Isozaki & Associates in 1963.

He was an honorary member of the Royal Academy of Arts (1994) and the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1998), and a member of the Japan Arts Academy (2017). He was appointed to the first Pritzker Prize Jury in 1979, and continued on as a member for five additional years.

Some of his projects include Palau Sant Jordi (1983-1990 Barcelona, Spain), designed for the 1992 Summer Olympic Games; Team Disney Building (1987-1990, Florida, USA); Shenzhen Cultural Center (1998-2007 Shenzhen, China); Pala Alpitour (2002-2005 Turin, Italy), ice hockey stadium for the 2006 Winter Olympic Games; Central Academy of Fine Arts, Art Museum (2003-2008 Beijing, China); Allianz Tower (2003-2014 Milan, Italy); Qatar National Convention Center, (2004-2011 Doha, Qatar); Shanghai Symphony Hall (2008-2014 Shanghai, China); and Hunan Provincial Museum (2011-2017 Changsha, China).

Qatar National Convention Centre

Centro Cultural Caixa Forum Barcelona

Ieoh Ming Pei

Ieoh Ming Pei, a Chinese-American architect,  earned a B.A. in architecture from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1940 and a Master’s in architecture from the Harvard Graduate School of Design in 1946, where he studied under German architect Walter Gropius, a pioneer of modernist architecture and founder of the Bauhaus school.

Pei has designed some of the most iconic buildings and extensions around the world and received many awards and recognitions throughout his career, including the Pritzker Prize in 1983 and  Royal Gold Medal from Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) in 2010. Some of his projects include the Macau Science Center, the East Building of the National Gallery of Art , the JFK Presidential Library, the Bank of China Tower in Hong Kong,

Le Grand Louvre and others.

HK Bank of China Tower

Le Grand Louvre

Meng Jianmin

Meng Jianmin is a member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE), Chinese Architectural Design Master, and Chief Architect of Shenzhen General Institute of Architectural Design and Research Co. Ltd. He is also one of the initiators for the first UABB and has served several times at the Academic Committee. Meng Jianmin is a founder of Meng Architects. Focusing on architectural scheme design and its whole process of design management, the project type covers museums, theaters, cultural centers, libraries, public landscape, office buildings, hotels and other public buildings.

Hefei Factor Market

Shenzhen Christian Church




All form fields are required.